Farnborough Symphony Orchestra

Farnborough Symphony Orchestra

Book Online

Or call the box office:
01252 329155

View other ways to book

Saturday 21 January
Running Time
120 mins
Tickets: £13.50 / Student £6.75

Guest Conductor: Daniel Hogan
Soloist: So-Ock Kim (Violin)

Gooderham: Candlewright
Korngold: Violin Concerto
Franck: Symphony in D minor

The FSO opens the New Year by welcoming guest conductor, Daniel Hogan, who is currently studying with a full scholarship for a Master’s in Conducting at the Royal College of Music. The concert celebrates the bicentenary of the birth of César Franck, a French Romantic composer, pianist, organist, and music teacher born in modern-day Belgium on 10th December 1822. The Symphony in D minor is his best-known orchestral work and the only mature symphony written by the composer. The work premiered in 1889 and received a mixed reception (Gounod called it “the affirmation of impotence taken to the point of dogma”) but it grew in popularity throughout the twentieth century until it became a stalwart of the symphonic canon. In recent years performances have declined but it remains an exciting fusion of French and German traditions, which the composer’s wife described as having “morally compromising sensuality and passion”! From the quiet opening to the indelibly memorable tune of the finale, this is a rare opportunity to hear some of the composer’s greatest music and we look forward to experiencing Daniel’s fresh approach to this work.

By contrast, Erich Korngold’s Violin Concerto was written in the early twentieth century and draws on the composer’s hugely popular melodies from his successful film scores. To play this wonderful work, we are excited to welcome back So-Ock Kim, who has become a much-valued friend of the FSO, most recently helping us to celebrate our return to music-making after the pandemic. As always, we eagerly anticipate her unique interpretation of the concerto. The opening work of the concert is a short work written by Sam Gooderham, with which he won the inaugural FSO Young Composer’s Competition in 2020. Inspired by the Illuminated River installation on Cannon Street bridge, this contemplative piece depicts the transition between south London and the city. We are delighted to have this opportunity of giving the first orchestral performance of this work and encouraging this aspiring young composer, particularly after this premiere was also postponed due to the pandemic. Needless to say, we can’t wait to share all these orchestral gems with our loyal audience.

You might also like...

Saturday 21 January 2023
Great Availability
It's the best time to book, as there is lots of choice.